- Instagram screenshots only trigger alerts for disappearing photos or videos in private DM threads.
- Notifications are not sent for screenshots of Instagram stories, posts or scrolls.
- Screenshot notifications have changed in the past and may again, so be sure to check from time to time.
Maybe you want to take a screenshot of a friend’s story about your birthday to save to your camera roll, or screenshot a recipe someone posted so you can make it later.
Whether you’re screenshotting (or screen recording) a story, a post, or even a reel, Instagram doesn’t notify the other user that you’ve taken a screenshot of their content.
But when you screenshot a disappearing photo or video sent to you via instant message, Instagram notifies the sender of the message.
Here’s everything you need to know about taking screenshots or screen recordings on Instagram.
Does Instagram notify you when you screenshot a story?
Although Instagram used to notify screenshots on stories, it no longer does.
It’s possible that Instagram’s notification policy for screenshots may change again, so it’s a good idea to double check.
Does Instagram notify you when you screenshot a post?
As with Stories, Instagram doesn’t send a notification when you take a screenshot of someone’s post.
When does Instagram notify you that a screenshot has been taken?
Instagram will only notify you for a screenshot taken of a disappearing photo or video sent in a private DM thread. Instagram does not notify screenshots for stories, posts, reels, permanent DMs, or other content on the app.
When someone takes screenshots of a disappearing photo or video you’ve sent, a small shaded circle will appear next to it.
Screenshots will also be notified in the conversation summary on your main message page, where you will see the “Screenshot” note.
What you should know about screenshotting Instagram DMs
A photo or video that disappears is one that you take with the camera in the Instagram message window.
The message “disappears” because the other user can only see it once, or twice if you allow replay. Instagram will notify you if someone screenshots a DM that disappears.
You can also screenshot other content in a live chat—such as individual messages, conversation history, and posts sent back and forth—without notifying the other person.
How to avoid being detected for an Instagram screenshot
Although these methods will avoid screenshot notification, you should never use or share someone’s photo, sensitive content or personal information without their consent.
- Open Instagram in a browser: If you log into Instagram in a browser on your computer and go to your instant messages, you can take a screenshot of a photo or video that disappears without the person knowing. Instagram does not notify screenshots taken in a browser.
- Put your phone in airplane mode: If you screenshot the image or video that disappears while the phone is in airplane mode, the other party will not be notified of the screenshot.
- Use a different camera or device: Of course, you can also take a picture of the screen with another device, although this may not give the best quality.